new year…new start

It’s been a whirlwind year.  I cannot believe that I’m now debt-free (minus the house).  I’ve had time to reflect and come to terms with what I’ve achieved – and I reckon I’ve done good.

It’s so easy for people to judge you.  Usually it’s good, encouraging comments, however sometimes you do get the odd one or two who just don’t ‘get it’.  They don’t understand that some people do get themselves into financial difficulties through no fault of their own – whether it’s reckless spending on credit cards and loans, or through getting fleeced by organisations which make you near-bankrupt.   If you’ve never had ‘real’ money troubles, and always been financially ‘sound’ then how the hell can you relate to those who struggle / have different ways of handling money?

It’s just funny how human nature is and people’s reactions to all sorts of situations.  Your feelings before, during and after you ‘conquer’ your demons.  Only you know how you feel – nobody else.  Only you can do what’s best for you.  People ‘think’ they know you, or know what you’re going through and how you’re feeling, but really they have no god-damn idea of how you’re feeling emotionally-wise.  Right now my head is still spinning, still angry, still confused, still happy, still overjoyed, still focused, still…

Do what’s right for you.  Go at your own pace.  Surround yourself with people who are on the same vibe as you.  If you cannot find face2face people, then go to the cyber-world and find them there.  The internet is a powerful tool and it’s helped me so, so much.  I’ve found a wonderful financial guru who has helped me on my journey, and who hasn’t judged others who are still in a situation.  It’s encouragement which people need – and a belief that they can do it.  And, more importantly, an understanding of WHY people get themselves into situations which are difficult to come out of.  Don’t judge them.  Don’t say ‘I feel sorry for these people’ but you really don’t mean it.  You have to understand human characteristics, and the different ways people react to different situations – understand them, feel for them, and DON’T compare them to your situation / actions / beliefs / way of living.

I had to get that off my chest 🙂

Leave a Reply

