it’s all over, but…

I just got paid, and today made the final payment.  Although, it wasn’t as smooth as I hoped.  You see I done something I had to do – silly, but I had to do it.

I ‘needed’ to make a purchase on the last CC (the interest-free one).  I was told by MBNA that if I used my card for this week then that payment would not be required until February 3, 2013.  However, if I used it before this week (like by December 14), it would be included and expected for payment for my January 3, 2013 payment.  Great!  I could make the last ‘official’ payment of just over £600+ for my December paycheck, and when the next payment (transaction was on December 17), would go through for £1,200+, that wouldn’t be due until my next statement, and I could ‘kill’ it then, in one big swoop (so effectively extending my debt-free until my January paycheck.

I stupidly believed them…and I was wrong to.

I looked on CC online today and BAM – £1,886.11 due by January 3, 2013 – or minimum payment of £23.00 to be taken from my direct debit.  BASTARDS, BASTARDS, BASTARDS!

I am MAD!!!!  Why or why did I believe the lovely lady over the phone who said that if I made a transaction w/c December 17, it wouldn’t be required until February 2013!  These people are LIARS! 

My cash flow is TIGHT this month, however I had to do something dramatic.  I HAD to kill the debt-monkey – at a price.  I’ve totally cleaned out my emergency fund in doing this.  I will also be slightly overdrawn sometime next month, however luckily my overdraft is interest-free.  That’s besides the point though – I didn’t want to:-
– use my emergency fund
– use my interest-free overdraft

However I’m sorry people, but I HAD TO DO IT.

I’ll be living on beans & rice / rice & beans.  I’ve got expenses going out this month, but I’m going to have to be TIGHT on myself.  No mercy.  

You credit card companies – I HATE YOU!  I WILL NEVER USE YOU AGAIN – EVER…

Guys, do not trust any of these institutions.  They will fuck you over as much as possible / any way possible.  They do not care.  They will lie through their teeth just for you to SPEND MONEY.  DON’T DO IT.

I’ll keep you abreast of my progress.  However right now, I have to say, I’m so emotional and angry I cannot write anymore.  No doubt once my January salary arrives I’ll be in a better state.  However, until then I was duped by the credit card companies – but I’ve CLEARED IT ALL OFF TODAY.  I’ve cancelled the direct debit too, so that they don’t catch me out.  I had to do the payment today due to the Christmas period, which is always dodgy due to the ‘public holiday’s – so really it should clear from my account in 4 working days time – which equals around Thursday January 3rd (my god, they are tricky bastards).

peace everyone – it’s been emotional…

2 comments
  1. Effing bastard asses! Seriously they are SO STUPID. I had someone call me saying I was late on a payment when I clearly wasn’t…they hadn’t checked their records! I paid on a weekend so it didn’t clear til Monday…My due date has ALWAYS been the 27th and they called me on the 23rd…WTH? Now it’s always due on the 23rd. I stubbornly pay them on the 27th because that’s my budget and that’s when I told them I’d pay! UGH! Luckily I don’t have late fees because t he card is closed out and I’m just paying it til it’s done. THANK YOU GOD.

    Here’s hoping 2013 will be awesome for us!

    • Girlfriend, you keep on doing those payments. You’re making payments, and keeping up with them – which is awesome. You’ll find some extra money, and when you do – hit that debt! 🙂

Leave a Reply

