YNAB & debt spreadsheet

As you know, i recently discovered an awesome budgeting program called YNAB – http://ynab.me/chrissie – however, I want you to also be aware that I’ve also discovered a superb debt calculator excel spreadsheet within Vertex42.com.  Here’s my full reviews of them both.

Budgeting:-

Guys and dolls – I’ve seen the light.  I’m budgeting for the first time in my life and I’m loving it!  I know it’s only been just under 2 weeks, since I’ve been serious about budgeting, but believe me when I say that this is a BIG DEAL for me. You have to know that I have never balanced my money in a budget way – ever – in all of my 43 years on this golden planet.

When I found You Need A Budget, I was intrigued by its quirkiness, just like me 🙂  I like its layout and style, and absolutely love the free workshops and forum support.  The accompanied iPhone app is slick, but most importantly, what really gets me excited is the fact that it just works for me.  it gets me.  Not a lot of things or people do, so for me, this was a blessing.

I’m now excited whenever I spend any money, and then have to add it to my iPhone or desktop applications.  I’m loving the fact that I’m tracing my money, and it’s making me ‘think’ about what the hell I’m spending, and whether I should be spending it in the first place.  I also have to add that I’m now creating ‘lists’ for whenever I plan to do any shopping.  I stuck with it today when I went to the Supermarket.  I never have a list!

Please check out You Need a Budget (YNAB) through the following link below.  Try it out by the 34-day free trial, and see how you get on – especially if you’ve never budgeted before.  I cannot get enough of this application.

Debt Calculator Spreadsheet:-

I discovered the Vertex42 website when I was searching the web, looking for an easy to use spreadsheet debt calculator, so I could see my debt going down every time I ‘add’ any snowflake money to my debt (snowflake = additional money to reduce my debt which I have not budgeted for each month – any spare cash I’m left with, so to speak).   There’s so much information out there, however for me, this spreadsheet – created by Dr Jon Wittwer – is exactly what I need. It’s superb, smart, user-friendly and ‘free’.

Please check out both YNAB & Vertex42 – their websites are below. Just copy and paste them into your web browser if the links below do not automatically take you to the websites once you click on them.  Believe me, you won’t regret it – I’m not!

http://ynab.me/chrissie

http://www.vertex42.com

6 comments
  1. Just found your blog through your guest post at blogging away debt. I wish you the best on climbing out of your debt and look forward to being a regular reader!

    • Thank you so much for your comment! wow, I’ve been found – somebody can hear my story in cyber-space 🙂 I really do appreciate your encouragement, and I wish you luck as well (I’m reading your blog as we speak – it’s really cool!)

  2. DD said:

    I, too, found you through your guest blog. Thanks for sharing your story. I recently started a blog (like this week) to help with the accountability process of money and spending. It’s a challenge because I love me some HappyHour and nice things…and it sounds like you do too…and maybe putting our challenge “out there” will get us both on the right path!

    Cheers!

  3. Your blog is inspiring! Thank you for sharing your story. 🙂

  4. DD & debtfreeclub : thank you for your encouraging messages – I so appreciate it. We have to do this guys, as life isn’t getting easier, but we have to make it work for us. DD, I’d love to have a look at your blog. Doing a blog really has made me face up to what’s going on, realise the hole that I’m in, and be even more determined to sort myself out. It also make me feel stronger – that it’s not a taboo to talk about my debt. Hey, the majority of people on this planet are in debt, but they don’t want to talk about it, nor deal with it. We have to!
    Poor-to-Rich-a-day-at-a-Time : I love your website 🙂

    • Thankyou! I am glad you enjoy it. I am sure I will grow to love yours as well as you allow us to follow your journey and reach your goals 🙂 The first step is becoming conscious with how we handle money and a desire to change it…I really look forward to celebrating your to come goals and challenges.

Leave a Reply

