I’ve started a budget :)

Man, I didn’t realise the essentialness of obtaining a budget.  I mean, I thought I was in control by having ‘money’ left in my current account after, for the first time in years, I didn’t have any overdraft in either of my bank accounts. However my good friend ‘G’, who is motivating me in getting out of debt, told me that I needed to have a physical budget like on excel.  I HATE excel.  I don’t do excel!  However, I decided to research on the net for an easy budget sheet, and eventually I found one.  It was cool and all, as I put my data in the cells and they formatted them automatically – yeah!  I felt ‘in control’, or so I thought, because really It just wasn’t hitting the mark!  Yes, for all of 3 hours I was excited, but that soon disappeared as I just wasn’t ‘getting it’ as I don’t like figures.  Last Sunday I researched, and researched, and researched like crazy.  There’s bound to be something which will be exciting, and easy, and user-friendly, and, and, and, what I just ‘get’.  

All of a sudden, through different links, and other links and frustrating links, and final links I found it… the budget system which I started using last Sunday in which I’m so excited about… it’s called YNAB – short for you need a budget.com.  It’s AWESOME!  It’s just what I’m looking for.  I put my details in, and it calculates it.  It’s teaching me to save for an emergency fund.  It’s teaching me to snowball (although I knew that already).  It’s teaching me to create a buffer, however long it’ll take.  It’s teaching me how to actually understand and budget my money and why I should, and if I fuck up (as I will), then it’s OK – I can sort it out (or should I say YNAB will sort it out) next month by re calculating my budget categories so that I’m back on the road again.  I’m accountable for this shit, and I love it!  They even have free webinar classes which I’ve listened to, and a podcast, and an active forum, and great case histories, and a cool website!  This is exactly what I’m talking about.  This is exactly what I need.  This is it! I have never really budgeted in my entire life before.  I thought I had, but I hadn’t.  God damn, your money is like frigging soldiers in which you assign them to jobs – every single one of the suckers.  You concentrate on the actual budget you’ve created and not your current account.  

I just need to find a solution in paying for this after the 34 day free trial ends!  It’ll cost $60:00, which is around £45:00, however, I have a cunning plan in which I can keep this while not having to pay for it.  I think it’ll work.  I’m on top of the world – eat me Leonardo DiCaprio!

EVERY DOLLAR HAS A JOB – love it!

 

Leave a Reply

